Do you get wetter from running or walking in the rain?

At lunch today with a work colleague, Jorge, we both exited the car in the bucketing rain, to make a dash to the chipper.

mythbusters running walking rain

This is how it would have looked if I was bald, black and brining out the rubbish.

Well, I made a dash for it. Jorge casually strolled from car to food as if he wasn’t being pelted by a thousand flying puddles of cloud-piss.

I asked him why he decided to do the slow-mo Reservoir Dogs walk through the wall of water and he told me that you get less wet walking than running in the rain.

I had heard this a few times before and had disregarded it then as quickly as I did today.

Turns out I was wrong.

Leave a Reply

